Channel 2 Action News Wins 11 Emmy Awards


Atlanta – June 8, 2013 – The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Southeast honored Channel 2 Action News with 11 Emmy Awards for outstanding achievement for television news gathering, special programming and promotion.

NATAS is a professional, non-profit association dedicated to excellence in visual media. While based in Atlanta, the chapter serves the southeast region comprising the following geographic areas: Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Asheville, NC.

“This recognition for Station and News Excellence from NATAS salutes our dedication to journalistic excellence in covering the Atlanta area every day,” said Tim McVay, Vice President and General Manager for Channel 2 WSB-TV. “I am proud and honored to share this with every employee at the station working to achieve excellence, day in and day out.”

“Investigating corruption, staying with a story to get to the bottom of it all, shedding light on important stories that impact the lives of our audience and sparking change are the hallmarks of Channel 2 Action News,” added Mike Dreaden, News Director. “NATAS members recognized and awarded our efforts while shining a spotlight on our talented team of anchors, reporters, producers, photographers and meteorologists.”

The Channel 2 Action News team members recognized for Outstanding Achievement in Television News Gathering, Program Specialty and Promotion were honored in the following categories:

Television Special Achievement Excellence  Station Excellence: WSB-TV, Tim McVay         

Television Crafts Achievement Excellence  News Excellence: WSB-TV, Mike Dreaden

Television Crafts Achievement Excellence  On-Camera Talent – Anchor – Weather: David Chandley

Television news Gathering Excellence 

Spot News: Chicken Man Explosion, Mike Petchenik, Justin Crate

Continuing Coverage: Faulty Air Packs, Erica Byfield, Erin Coleman, Jodie Fleischer, Chuck Rakestraw, Josh Wade, Erica Jorgensen, Richard Guittar, Marian Pittman, Brad Stone, Mike Dreaden

News Special: Fueling Georgia’s Future, Brad Stone, Kellie Burkett, Jim Strickland, Richard Guittar

Television News and Program Specialty Excellence  Specialty Assignment Report – News Series/Feature: Donation Detour, Aaron Diamant, Josh Wade, Erica Jorgensen

Television Programming Excellence  Special Event Coverage – Live: Georgia Salutes America, Art Rogers, James Hutchinson, Deborah Draper, Cheryl Rogers

Television Programming Excellence  Special Event Coverage – Edited: Monica’s Farewell, Dorthey Daniels, Leona Nascimento, Marian Pittman, Melissa Jackson

Television Spot Announcements Excellence  Promotion – Image – News: Radar Detail, Steve Riley, Lisa Spivack, Jenny Kim, Barry Sinnock

Television Crafts Achievement Excellence  Editor – News: Josh Wade

About Channel 2 WSB-TV The ABC Affiliate is part of Cox Media Group and ranks as Atlanta’s number one local television station. The station also operates its website,, its mobile site,, and airs MeTV on its digital channel 2.2.

About Cox Media Group
Cox Media Group is an integrated broadcasting, publishing, direct marketing and digital media company that includes the national advertising rep firms of CoxReps.  Additionally, CMG owns Cox Target Media, which operates Valpak, one of North America’s leading direct marketing companies, and, a leading online source for savings.  The company’s operations currently include 14 broadcast television stations and one local cable channel, 57 radio stations, eight daily newspapers and more than a dozen non-daily publications, and more than 100 digital services.  CMG currently operates in more than 20 media markets and reaches approximately 52 million Americans weekly, including more than 30 million TV viewers, more than 4 million print and online newspaper readers, and 14 million radio listeners.  For more information about Cox Media Group, please check us out online at