Oakland’s KTVU Ten o’Clock News Honored with Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Newscast in U.S.


OAKLAND – June 12, 2012 – Cox Media Group’s KTVU Channel 2’s Ten o’Clock News has been honored with the 2012 national Edward R. Murrow Award for large market video newscast by the Radio-Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

The KTVU newscast that won the Murrow aired on October 25, 2011, a day in which Oakland became the national focus of the Occupy movement.   Police and protestors clashed, resulting in dozens of arrests.  KTVU camera crews were live-on-the-scene as police used tear gas, bean bags and flash grenades to break up the crowd.  Several protestors were injured including an Iraq War veteran.

“It is great to see this particular KTVU newscast recognized because it embodies the incredible team effort we give every night — but it really highlights the outstanding work being done by our photographers and reporters,” said KTVU News Director Ed Chapuis.  “Occupy Oakland blew up that night and our field crews were right in the middle of it — getting tear gassed, getting pushed around — but getting the video, and getting the complete story for our viewers.  They hung in there and produced some truly incredible live coverage.  They displayed grace under pressure in an extremely difficult situation.”

“To win an award of this magnitude is an incredible achievement.  I couldn’t be more proud of KTVU’s entire news department.  It shows how we are committed to bringing our viewers complete Bay Area news coverage every single day,” said Tom Raponi, KTVU/KICU Vice President and General Manager.

This is the second time KTVU’s Ten o’Clock News has been honored with a national Murrow Award for newscast excellence, also being recognized in 2005.  In 2012, KTVU Channel 2 News was awarded seven regional Murrow Awards including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Hard News Reporting, Video, Sports Reporting, Investigative Reporting and Newscast. 

The Radio-Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name.   KTVU’s Murrow will be given by RTDNA at an awards ceremony at the Grand Hyatt in New York City on Oct. 8, 2012.

About Cox Media Group
Cox Media Group  is an integrated broadcasting, publishing, direct marketing and digital media company that includes the national advertising rep firms of Cox Reps. Additionally, CMG owns and operates Valpak, one of North America’s leading direct marketing companies.   With $1.7 billion in revenue, the company operations include 15 broadcast television stations and one local cable channel, 86 radio stations, eight daily newspapers and more than a dozen non-daily publications, and more than 100 digital services.   CMG operates in more than 30 media markets and reaches approximately 52 million Americans weekly, including 30 million TV viewers, more than 4 million print and online newspaper readers, and 18 million radio listeners.  For more information about Cox Media Group, please check us out online at www.coxmediagroup.com